REGISTER
Live Webinar
Thursday, June 27
07:00 [PDT] 10:00 [EDT] 15:00 [BST]

June 14, 2019 — The recent publication of Rapid extraction of DNA suitable for NGS workflows from bacterial cultures using the PDQeX (BioTechniques, Vol. 66, No. 5, May 2019) has generated significant interest in preparing DNA extracts for whole genome sequencing using MicroGEM's single-tube, temperature-driven approach. The study showed the sequence quality obtained from DNA extracted using the rapid PDQeX protocol and how it compares to other existing methodologies.

Until now, the problem has been that methods for nucleic acid extraction have either required the use of toxic chemicals or have taken several hours to perform.  There has also been sample loss due to multiple pipetting steps and centrifugation. In addition, the read-length of extracted DNA has become more important as the popularity of nanopore sequencing and SMRT sequencing, both requiring more intact DNA, has increased.

The study's authors, Jo Stanton (University of Otago), David Saul (MicroGEM) and Abishek Muralidhar (MicroGEM), will present their work at a live webinar hosted by BioTechniques on June 27. They will discuss the advantages of MicroGEM's enzyme-driven chemistry and what makes it desirable for sequencing studies. The speakers will share insights into future work on emerging sequencing technologies, particularly long-read sequencing, as well as their work with various sample types, including blood, plant, and insect.

To register for the live webinar, click here.